Using Jiobit

How does Jiobit track?

Jiobit uses a combination of cellular, GPS, and Wi-Fi signals to identify where it is when it is not connected to Bluetooth. The specific combination varies per situation.

Jiobit always requires a cellular connection to transmit data between the Jiobit and the cloud (thus to your Jiobit app via your carrier’s network). In certain situations, the cell tower can be used as a source for the location, but if you take into account the size of the coverage area for a cell tower, this location information may not always be accurate. However, when there is no other source, it may still be useful. Because of the Jiobit's reliance on a cellular signal, if at any time you're experiencing an issue related to connectivity or delays in notifications, the issue could be related to poor coverage.

GPS is the most straightforward way for a Jiobit to obtain location information but if Jiobit uses GPS constantly, the battery will drain quickly. Imagine if you were to run Google Maps constantly on your phone, it is likely that your battery would drain within a few hours. Also, GPS has its own coverage limitations, especially when you are indoors or do not have a direct line of sight to the satellites. In this case, you may not get a GPS location. 

In addition, Jiobit uses Wi-Fi by scanning and collecting surrounding Wi-Fi signals (Wi-Fi fingerprints) and uploading this information to Jiobit Cloud. Our backend system applies additional processing and logic to identify the latitude and longitude and translates this info into a readable format (such as an address or a Trusted Place). This information is then sent to your Jiobit app.



Why should I setup Trusted Places?

Setting up Trusted Places improves the overall Jiobit experience. When you set up a Trusted Place you are creating a geofence around a specific location and you will be notified when the Jiobit arrives at or leaves this location. Setting up Trusted Places also helps improve battery life because the Jiobit will not constantly be searching for a location when inside that Trusted Place. When you set up your Jiobit, you will be prompted to add your home as a Trusted Place. We recommend that you also add other locations that will be frequented like school, daycare, or family members’ homes. Please visit the Trusted Places section of our User Guide for detailed instructions.

How does Jiobit recognize that it is inside a Trusted Place?

When we say Jiobit uses Wi-Fi, we do not mean that the Jiobit always attempts to connect to a Wi-Fi access point (if it did it would require a password for any unknown network).

What Jiobit does is scans and collects the surrounding Wi-Fi signals (we call them Wi-Fi fingerprints) and uploads this information to the Jiobit Cloud. Once the info gets to our backend system, we apply additional processing and logic to identify the latitude and longitude and also translate the information to something identifiable like an address or a Trusted Place, which then gets sent to your Jiobit app. Because it takes time for the Jiobit to detect a change, you may notice a 2-3 minute delay between the actual location change and receipt of the notification on your smartphone. If you’re in a location with weak cellular signal, that delay may be longer.

When you set up a Trusted Place, there is a self-learning process that takes time to collect the Wi-Fi fingerprints of that location. Early in this process the Jiobit will use a little more power.


Why should I add Care Team Members?

Adding Care Team Members improves the overall Jiobit experience by giving trusted caregivers like family members or babysitters access to the Jiobit’s location. Additionally, you will be able to see when the Jiobit is with those caregivers. When the Jiobit is with you or a Care Team Member, the Jiobit will use that phone’s location for more precise tracking and power optimization. For instructions on how to add Care Team Members please visit the Care Team section of the User Guide.

Does Jiobit report an exact route?

When Jiobit is in a moving vehicle there is risk that battery life will suffer due to constant reporting of location updates. To combat this, we’ve designed a transit mode that allows Jiobit to scan for location but will hold that update. In your location history you may notice that your exact street route is not reported and this is intentional to ensure power optimization.

How can I see location history?

Currently you can see up to 48 hours of location history. To view your history, from the homescreen or dashboard, click on the timer icon.

Location Permission: Why is it necessary?

Allowing Jiobit to always access your location to connect whenever it is in Bluetooth range will improve Jiobit's battery life and enable your Care Team to be notified when you are with the Jiobit. Set your location sharing permission to ‘Always’ to improve your Jiobit experience.

Location Permission: What is different on iOS 13?

Before updating to iOS 13, users have three options to share location with an app: “Always”, “While Using the App”, and “Never”. After updating to iOS 13, you will see an additional option called “Allow Once” that will replace “Always”. This will allow an app to access your device’s precise location information only once. This screen does not provide the option to select “Always” at this time and we recommend selecting “Allow While Using App.”

The first location permission dialog is displayed during the setup

If you are using iOS 13, you will also receive a notification asking if you would like to change location permission to “Keep Only While Using” or “Always Allow”. Selecting “Keep Only While Using” will restrict Jiobit’s features, resulting in: 

  1. Impact to Jiobit’s battery life
  2. Prevents your Care Team from being notified when you are with your loved one
  3. Does not allow Bluetooth-enabled notifications                                                       

Select “Change to Always Allow” for the best experience.


The second location permission dialog is displayed after you install the app

If you are using iOS 13, you will then begin receiving notifications about when the app is using your precise location in the background and how many times the app has accessed that information. The notification will also include a map of the location data and an explanation of why the app uses that type of location information. Here, we recommend that you select “Always Allow” to connect whenever it is in Bluetooth range. This will improve Jiobit's battery life and enable your Care Team to be notified when you are with the Jiobit.

The third location permission dialog is displayed periodically after you start using the app


Location Permission: How can I manually update my location permission?

To update your location sharing permissions go to Settings, select Jiobit in your list of apps, select Location, and choose Always under Allow Location Access.

For the correct iPhone settings, refer to the images below: